Publishers Association logo
Publishing Industry Called to Showcase Success in British Book Trade

Publishing Industry Called to Showcase Success in British Book Trade

BBIA Logo 2016.jpg
12th February 2016

Professionals across the publishing industry are being called to enter The Bookseller British Book Industry Awards and showcase the success of the British book trade.

The British Book Industry Awards will celebrate the greatness of the British book trade and the people behind it – the best books, the best writers, the best bookshops, the best publishers - from industry greats to those starting out. Building on the success and legacy of The Bookseller Industry Awards (the trade “Nibbies”), 2016 will mark the first step, and a step-change, in the way the book trade presents itself to itself and to the wider world.

The new name places the emphasis on the book. Whether in print or e-book format the awards' mission is to recognise the trade’s successes in getting more books in the hands of more readers.  They also aim to recognise the very best that has been produced by British own authors and publishers. From a new home at The Grosvenor House to a full-scale expansion of The Books of the Year, everything will be geared to championing the UK's successful and vital creative industry. Awards night itself will be a huge celebration of the best of the book trade and a pivotal date in the calendar.

2015 winners included:    

·        Joe Tagg (Blackwells, Oxford) – Young Retailer of the Year     

·        Francesca Main (Picador) – Editor of the Year

·        Rachel Mills (Peters, Fraser and Dunlop) – Rights professional of the Year

·        Gordon Wise (Curtis Brown) - Literary Agent of the Year

·        Canongate (Letters Live) – Marketing Strategy of the Year

·        Orkney Library and Archive – Library of the Year      

Deadline for entries is Friday 19th February 2016.

For information about the categories, take a look at the awards entry pack. 


British Book Industry Awards Promo.jpg